AideTek VC60B+ Insulation Tester - product overview

AideTek VC60B+ Insulation Tester Megohmmeter with Calibration Certificate

$76.00
Skip to product information
AideTek VC60B+ Insulation Tester - product overview

AideTek VC60B+ Insulation Tester Megohmmeter with Calibration Certificate

$76.00

Product Overview

The AideTek VC60B+ is a professional handheld insulation resistance tester for electricians, maintenance technicians, and industrial repair. It measures insulation resistance of motors, cables, transformers, and wiring systems to catch leakage, aging, and insulation faults before they become failures — with three standard test voltages: 250V, 500V, and 1000V. The backlit LCD delivers stable, readable measurements in dim panels and crawl spaces. Every unit is fully tested and adjusted before it ships, using the factory’s calibrated test instruments. A calibration certificate is included in the box.

Key Features

  • Three test voltages: 250V / 500V / 1000V for low- and medium-voltage equipment
  • Insulation resistance to 2GΩ (1000V range), ±(4.0%+2)
  • Also measures AC voltage to 750V, DC voltage to 1000V, resistance to 2kΩ, plus continuity buzzer — one meter covers the whole job
  • Audible & visual alarm during high-voltage output — you always know when test voltage is live
  • Backlit LCD, data hold, low-battery indication
  • Guard (G) terminal for 3-wire measurements
  • Protective holster; compact 176 × 116 × 63 mm body for field work
  • CAT II 600V, CE
  • Powered by 6× AA batteries or external DC 9V

Widely Used For

  • Insulation testing of power cables, electrical wires, and wiring harnesses
  • Resistance detection of electric motors, generators, and transformers
  • Maintenance inspection of household appliances, switch cabinets, and distribution boxes
  • Construction circuit safety inspection and industrial equipment periodic maintenance
  • Automotive wiring and low-voltage electrical system fault diagnosis

Package Includes

  • 1 × AideTek VC60B+ Digital Insulation Tester
  • 1 × Calibration Certificate (unit fully tested before shipping)
  • 1 pair test leads (CAT II 600V)
  • 1 × black carrying pouch
  • 1 × color gift box
  • 1 × User Manual (English)

Warranty: 1-year AideTek warranty.

Specifications

Insulation test voltage 250V±10% / 500V±10% / 1000V±10%
Insulation resistance 0~200MΩ (250V/500V), 0~2GΩ (1000V); ±(4.0%+2)
Resistance 0~2kΩ; ±(1.0%+5)
DC voltage 0~1000V; ±(1.0%+5)
AC voltage 0~750V; ±(1.5%+5)
Continuity alarm < 30Ω±10Ω
Safety rating CAT II 600V, CE
Power 6× AA or external DC 9V
Dimensions 176 × 116 × 63 mm

Frequently Asked Questions

1. What does this meter measure?

It measures insulation resistance using 250V, 500V, or 1000V DC test voltages. It also measures AC voltage, DC voltage, ordinary resistance, and continuity. The manual does not list inductance measurement.

2. What jobs is it designed for?

The manual lists insulation testing of motors, cables, electrical equipment, and electrical installations. It helps you check insulation separately from ordinary resistance or continuity. Follow the equipment manufacturer’s test procedure when deciding whether a reading is acceptable.

3. How is insulation testing different from checking resistance with a regular multimeter?

An ordinary resistance check uses a small test signal to measure a conductive path. Insulation testing applies a higher DC voltage to check how effectively insulation prevents leakage. A winding can pass a continuity check and still have an insulation problem.

4. How do I choose 250V, 500V, or 1000V?

Use the test voltage specified by the manufacturer of the equipment you are checking. Do not automatically choose 1000V because it is the highest setting. If the required voltage is unknown, confirm it before testing.

5. What insulation resistance ranges does it offer?

The manual lists a 200 MΩ range at both 250V and 500V, and a 2000 MΩ range at 1000V. Its stated insulation resistance accuracy is ±(4.0% of reading + 2 digits). These are instrument specifications, not motor pass/fail limits.

6. Can I test insulation while the equipment is powered?

No—the manual requires the equipment under test to be disconnected from its power supply and fully discharged. Confirm that it is de-energized before connecting for insulation testing. The tester produces its own high voltage during the test.

7. Which terminals do I use for insulation testing?

The manual specifies the red lead at E and the black lead at L. Connect E to the point being tested and L to the equipment’s earth or grounded reference, following the equipment’s test procedure. Do not use the ordinary V/Ω connections for insulation testing.

8. What does the G terminal do?

During insulation testing, G is a guard terminal used with an appropriate guard connection to reduce the effect of unwanted surface leakage. For ordinary voltage, resistance, and continuity measurements, G serves as the negative input. It is not a Kelvin four-wire resistance terminal.

9. How do I start an insulation test?

Select the required insulation test voltage and connect the leads correctly before pressing TEST. Read the result after the display stabilizes. Keep your hands away from exposed conductors and test connections while high voltage is present.

10. Does it warn me when test voltage is being applied?

Yes—the manual says the high-voltage indicator turns red and a high-voltage symbol appears on the display when TEST is pressed. It also describes a repeating audible warning during insulation testing. Treat the test connections as hazardous whenever the test is active.

11. What does “1” on the display mean?

The manual uses “1” to indicate an overrange reading. In resistance or continuity mode, it can also indicate an open circuit. It does not mean 1 Ω or 1 MΩ, and an overrange insulation reading alone is not a complete equipment safety assessment.

12. Can I use HOLD during an insulation test?

No—the manual specifically states that data hold is unavailable during insulation resistance measurement. For supported measurements, press HOLD to freeze the displayed reading and press it again to release it. Do not mistake a held reading for a live measurement.

13. Can it measure AC and DC voltage?

Yes—the manual lists a DC 1000V range (±0.5%+6) and an AC 750V range (±1.0%+6), both with 1V resolution. Its stated AC frequency response is 50–200 Hz. Use the V/Ω positive input and G negative input, and stay within the applicable safety limits.

14. Do those voltage ranges establish its CAT safety rating?

No—a measurement range alone does not establish the meter’s suitability for a particular electrical installation. The meter’s dial is marked CAT II 600V (visible in product photos). The manual does not document independent laboratory certification of this rating, and it does not state a CAT rating for the supplied test leads.

15. Can it check continuity and ordinary resistance?

Yes—it has a 2000 Ω resistance range (±0.8%+6) with 1 Ω resolution. The continuity beeper sounds below approximately 50 Ω. Disconnect power and fully discharge capacitors before using either function.

16. Is it suitable for precise milliohm or four-wire winding measurements?

The manual lists 1 Ω resolution on its ordinary resistance range and does not specify four-wire Kelvin measurement. That makes it unsuitable for distinguishing small milliohm differences based on the documented specifications. For that job, use a meter with a confirmed low-resistance range and suitable measurement method.

17. Does it automatically discharge the equipment after an insulation test?

The supplied manual does not describe an automatic discharge function. Follow an approved discharge procedure and verify that no hazardous voltage remains before touching the equipment or moving the leads.

18. What powers the meter, and does the adapter charge the batteries?

It uses six 1.5V AA batteries or an external 9V DC adapter. The manual states that connecting the adapter disconnects the battery supply and does not charge the batteries. The 9V adapter is not in the manual’s standard accessories list (test leads, batteries, manual, shoulder strap, and clips only), so do not assume one is included.

19. Does it have a backlight, and can I use it outdoors?

It has a switchable LCD backlight for reading the display in dim areas. However, the manual specifies indoor use and says to keep the instrument away from water and dust. It does not document a waterproof or dustproof rating.

20. What comes with it, and does it include a calibration certificate or warranty?

The manual lists a pair of test leads, six AA batteries, an operation manual, a shoulder strap, and a pair of crocodile clips. Every unit is fully tested and adjusted before it ships, using the factory’s calibrated test instruments — a calibration certificate is included in the box. (This is factory calibration, not independent laboratory accreditation.) AideTek provides a 1-year warranty: if the unit has a problem, it’s a direct replacement.

You may also like